Honors and Awards

Notable research achievements by USU faculty in 2010


Mark Brunson (Environment and Society) named the 2010 Range Manager of the Year by the Utah section of the Society for Range Management.

YangQuan Chen (Electrical and Computer Engineering) received the IFAC FDA 2010 Dissemination Award.

Dee Child (Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education) received the Frank R. Kleffner Clinical Career Award for Utah, 2010 from the Utah Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

Roger Coulombe (Animal, Dairy and Veterinary Sciences) received the Fulbright-Saasramoinen Health Sciences Award.

Susan Crowley (Psychology) named the Society for Personality Assessment’s 2009 Fellow.

Farrell Edwards (Physics) received the 2009 Utah Governor’s Medal for Science and Technology.

Jim Evans (Geology) named Fellow by the Geological Society of America.

Rosemary Fullerton (Accounting) received the LEI Excellence in Lean Accounting Professor Award from the Lean Enterprise Institute.

Ronald Gillam (Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education) named the Haydn Williams Fellow by the Curtin University of Technology in Perth, West Australia.

Bonnie Glass-Coffin (Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology) received the Eleanor Roosevelt Global Citizenship Award from the Center for a Public Anthropology at Hawaii Pacific University.

Nancy Glomb (Special Education) received the Emerging Visual Scholar Award from the American Educational Research Association.

Cathy Hartman and Edwin Stafford (Management) received the Seven Summits Award for Environmental Film Competition for “Wind Uprising” from the Mountain Film Festival in Mammoth Lakes, California.

Brian Higginbotham (Family, Consumer and Human Development) received the Early Achievement Award for 2009 from the National Awards Committee at the National Extension Family Life Specialists’ Conference.

Judith Holt (Center for Persons with Disabilities) received the Lifetime Service Award from the Brain Injury Association of Utah.

Gregory Madden (Psychology) was named Editor Elect by the Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior.

Darren McAvoy (Wildland Resources) received the Forest Stewardship Achievement Award from the State of Utah.

Daniel McInerney (History) elected to the board of directors of the Nineteenth-Century Studies Association.

Laurie McNeill (Civil and Environmental Engineering) named the Utah Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation.

Robert McPherson (History) received the Utah Book Award for Nonfiction for Comb Ridge and its People: The Ethnohistory of a Rock.

Steven Mitton (History) received a postdoctoral fellowship from Yale University’s MacMillan Center.

Edward Reeve (Engineering and Technology Education) elected President of the Council on Technology Teacher Education.

Scott Ross (Special Education) received the Ted Carr Initial Research Award from the American Educational Research Association.

Ron Ryel (Wildland Resources) awarded the 2010 Fulbright Specialists Program from Portugal Technical University of Lisbon.

Cinthya Saavedra (Teacher Education and Leadership) named the Velma E. Schmidt Critical Childhood Public Policy International Research Fellow.

Alexa Sand (Art) named the ACLS Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellow.

Steve Simms (Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology) received the 2011 SAA Book Award in Public Audiences for Traces of Fremont: Society and Rock Art in Ancient Utah.

Jack Schmidt (Watershed Sciences) received the Directors Award in Natural Resource Research from the National Park Service.

Donal Sinex (Psychology) named Fellow in the Acoustical Society of America.

Jan Sojka (Physics) named Fellow by the American Geophysical Union in the Space Physics and Aeronomy Section.

Heidi Wengreen (Nutrition and Food Sciences) received the Emerging Dietetics Leader from the American Dietetic Association.

Kevin Womack (Civil and Environmental Engineering) named Fellow by the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Byard Wood (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering) received the Frank Kreith Energy Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Wayne Wurtsbaugh (Watershed Sciences) awarded a Fulbright Fellowship Aquatic Ecology Practicum Education and Investigations at Mar Chiquita, Argentina for 2011.