The Research Council advises the Vice president for Research in all matters pertaining to research and other scholarly or creative activity of the University:

  • In the formulation of policy, including research priorities and procedures for attaining them;
  • In the encouragement and stimulation of research in the context of instructional and other goals of the University;
  • In monitoring, reviewing, and evaluating cross-college research programs in the University; and
  • In recommending to the Vice president for Research the allocation of all funds available for research and related purposes to be expended through the office of the Vice President for Research.

Membership of the council

The permanent membership of the Research Council consists of:

  • the Vice President for Research;
  • the Provost;
  • the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies;
  • the Director of the Water Research Laboratory;
  • the Dean of each college of the University or a staff member designated by the Dean to represent research in the respective college, and
  • the Director of the Agricultural Experiment Station. Additional members may be added to the council upon recommendation of the Vice President for Research and approval by the senate.

Chair of the council

The council is chaired by the Vice President for Research.

Research Council Voting Roster





Mark R. McLellan VP for Research & Dean of Graduate Studies, Chair 1180 1450
Noelle Cockett Executive Vice President and Provost 1167 1435
Frank Caliendo (for Doug Anderson) J. M. Huntsman School of Business 2882 3540
Jagath Kaluarachchi (for Christine Hailey) College of Engineering 2776 4100
Lisa Berreau (Interim) Dean, College of Science 3515 0305
Jamison Fargo (for Beth Foley) E Eccles Jones College of Educ. & Human Services 1469 2800
John Allen College of Humanities & Social Sciences 2603 0730
Mac McKee Director, Utah Water Research Laboratory 3188 8200
Nick Morrison (for Craig Jessop) Caine College of the Arts 3506 4015
Nancy Huntley Director of Ecology Ctr (Effect: 10/1/2011) 2555 5205
Ken White Dean, College of Agriculture 2201 4900
Jennifer Duncan (for Richard Clement) Dean of Libraries 8148 3000
Rylish Moeller Faculty Senate Representative 7049 4110
Bryce Fifield Exec. Director, Center for Persons with Disabilities 2816 6800
Chris Luecke Dean, College of Natural Resources 2452 5200