Utah State University Old Main

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council establishes regulations and standards for graduate study with the approval of the Faculty Senate and advises the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies on exceptions or adjustments to policy. Graduate Council members assist with:

  • Reviewing graduate program curriculum proposals: Proposals for new curricula or revisions to existing curricula (R401s) are reviewed and approved by the Graduate Council.
  • Reviewing changes to Graduate School policy: Changes to Graduate School requirements (e.g., admission requirements) are reviewed and approved by the Graduate Council.
  • Commencement: Council members are asked to assist with the hooding of master’s candidates at the annual Graduate School commencement.
Graduate Catalog
Council Bylaws
Meeting Minutes
The Graduate Council includes one representative from each of the eight colleges/schools, a representative from the Faculty Senate, a representative from the library and the USUSA graduate senator and graduate director, all of whom are voting members. The council is chaired by Dr. Mark McLellan, dean of the School of Graduate Studies. Office of Research and Graduate Studies associate deans serve as non-voting members on the Graduate Council.

The Graduate Council sends one member as a representative to the Curriculum Committee and one to the Educational Policies Committee.

All college faculty representatives serve four-year terms with two new members elected each year. The Faculty Senate representative is nominated by the Faculty Senate for a two-year term. The graduate students are appointed for one-year terms by the Graduate Student Senate.

Member Representing Email Term End
Abby Benninghoff Agriculture abby.benninghoff@usu.edu 2020
Kathy Puzey Arts kathy.puzey@usu.edu 2018
Konrad Lee Business konrad.lee@usu.edu 2018
Troy Beckert Education troy.beckert@usu.edu 2018
Richard Peralta Engineering peralta.rc@gmail.com 2021
Rick Krannich Humanities richard.krannich@usu.edu 2018
Johan Du Toit Natural Resources johan.dutoit@usu.edu 2018
Michelle Baker Science michelle.baker@usu.edu 2019
Lisa Gabbert Faculty Senate lisa.gabbert@usu.edu 2018
Todd Welch Library todd.welch@usu.edu 2019
Mark McLellan School of Graduate Studies Chair mark.mclellan@usu.edu
Anuj Khasigiwala USUSA Graduate Senator gradsenator@ususa@usu.edu 2017
Kristin Hall USUSA Director of Research
USUSA Director of Graduate Campus Affairs
graddirector.ususa@usu.edu 2017
Scott Bates School of Graduate Studies scott.bates@usu.edu
Jeff Broadbent School of Graduate Studies jeff.broadbents@usu.edu
Richard Inouye School of Graduate Studies richard.inouye@usu.edu

The Graduate Council meets monthly during the academic year, typically on the second Wednesday of each month. All meetings are held at 3 p.m. in Old Main 164J.

Agenda items are due by 5 p.m. on the dates listed below. Meeting agendas are distributed before each meeting.

If you are unable to attend a meeting, please contact Geneva Harline and provide the name of who will substitute for you.

Meeting Date Agenda Items Due
Sept. 13 Sept. 7
Oct. 11 Oct. 5
Nov. 8 Nov. 2
Dec. 13 Dec. 7
Jan. 17 Jan. 11
Feb. 14 Feb. 8
March 14 March 8
April 11 April 5