Graduate Council2018-10-27T04:08:28+00:00
Utah State University Old Main

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council establishes regulations and standards for graduate study with the approval of the Faculty Senate and advises the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies on exceptions or adjustments to policy. Graduate Council members assist with:

  • Reviewing graduate program curriculum proposals: Proposals for new curricula or revisions to existing curricula (R401s) are reviewed and approved by the Graduate Council.
  • Reviewing changes to Graduate School policy: Changes to Graduate School requirements (e.g., admission requirements) are reviewed and approved by the Graduate Council.
  • Commencement: Council members are asked to assist with the hooding of master’s candidates at the annual Graduate School commencement.
Graduate Catalog
Council Bylaws
Meeting Minutes
The Graduate Council includes one representative from each of the eight colleges/schools, a representative from the Faculty Senate, a representative from the library and the USUSA graduate senator and graduate director, all of whom are voting members. The council is chaired by Dr. Larry Smith, dean of the School of Graduate Studies. Office of Research and Graduate Studies associate deans serve as non-voting members on the Graduate Council.

The Graduate Council sends one member as a representative to the Curriculum Committee and one to the Educational Policies Committee.

All college faculty representatives serve four-year terms with two new members elected each year. The Faculty Senate representative is nominated by the Faculty Senate for a two-year term. The graduate students are appointed for one-year terms by the Graduate Student Senate.

Member Representing Email Term End
Abby Benninghoff Agriculture abby.benninghoff@usu.edu 2020
Nancy Hills Arts nancy.hills@usu.edu 2018
Chad Albrecht Business chad.albrecht@usu.edu 2022
Andy Walker Education andy.walker@usu.edu 2022
Rose Hu Engineering rose.hu@usu.edu 2021
Colleen O’Neill Humanities colleen.oneill@usu.edu 2022
Jim Lutz Natural Resources james.lutz@usu.edu 2022
Sean Johnson Science sean.johnson@usu.edu 2019
Victor Lee Faculty Senate victor.lee@usu.edu 2020
Todd Welch Library todd.welch@usu.edu 2019
Larry Smith School of Graduate Studies Chair larry.smith@usu.edu
Kristin Hall USUSA Graduate Senator gradsenator@ususa@usu.edu 2019
Marshall Grimm USUSA Director of Research
USUSA Director of Graduate Campus Affairs
graddirector.ususa@usu.edu 2019
Alexa Sand School of Graduate Studies alexa.sand@usu.edu
Lisa Berreau  School of Graduate Studies  lisa.berreau@usu.edu
Richard Inouye School of Graduate Studies richard.inouye@usu.edu
The Graduate Council meets monthly during the academic year, typically on the second Wednesday of each month. All meetings are held at 3 p.m. in Old Main 164J.

Agenda items are due by 5 p.m. on the dates listed below. Meeting agendas are distributed before each meeting.

If you are unable to attend a meeting, please contact Geneva Harline and provide the name of who will substitute for you.

Meeting Date Agenda Items Due
Sept. 12 Aug. 29
Oct. 10 Sept. 26
Nov. 14 Oct. 31
Dec. 12 Nov. 28
Jan. 9 Dec. 28
Feb. 13 Jan. 30
March 13 Feb. 27
April 10 March 27