News, Events and Media



April 3, 2012

Research Gala recognized outstanding Utah State University researchers

USU’s top faculty researchers of the year were honored at a first-ever Research Gala, sponsored by the Office of Research and Graduate Studies, as part of Research Week 2012. The gala was held at the Riverwoods Conference Center on Apr. 2.

“The gala gave us a chance to focus our recognition and shine a brighter spotlight on our best researchers,” said Mark McLellan, vice president for research and dean of the School of Graduate Studies. “These are highly talented and diligent faculty members, and, to better honor them, we produced this event, adding video and print recognition during the evening.”

Nine faculty researchers of the year were honored, including:

  • Jiming Jin, College of Agriculture
  • Shawn Fisher, Caine College of the Arts
  • Maria Norton, Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services
  • YangQuan Chen, College of Engineering
  • Diana Thomas, Jon M. Huntsman School of Business
  • Damon Cann, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Layne Coppock, College of Natural Resources
  • Christopher Corcoran, College of Science
  • Heath Mitton, Regional Campuses and Distance Education

“Being recognized in this way is further testimony to the importance and significance that Utah State University places on research,” said Researcher of the Year Chris Corcoran, professor in the department of mathematics and statistics.

A short video presentation was produced to profile each of the researchers, and those will be released to the public throughout the summer.

“Tonight we’ve recognized assistant professors, associate professors, and full professors, each of whom has been set apart by their colleges as an exemplary researcher,” said USU President Stan Albrecht during his remarks at the event. “At Utah State, this ‘life cycle’ of research extends even further, to our graduate and undergraduate students.”

The Office of Research and Graduate Studies also recognized 22 researchers who received large grants in 2011 and announced the Graduate Mentor of the Year Award, given to Timothy Gilbertson, professor of biology; and the D. Wynne Thorne Career Research Award, given to Lance Seefeldt, professor of chemistry and biochemistry.

- Nadiah Johari